Polygamy

Polygamy is when someone is married to more than one person. It can either be polygyny which is when a man has more than one wife. Polyandry is when a woman has more than one husband. There is also a group marriage which means a group of people are all married to each other (both men & women). Bigamy is when an already legally married person marries another person. In most western countries bigamy is listed as a crime and might be prosecuted.

I don’t think this is good for either person of the marriage, I don’t think everyone in a polygamy relationship can be as happy as a normal couple can be. Also it can’t be a very fun thing for a child to grow up in a polygamous family, since it is also very usual that there are many kids in a polygamous family I think the house will be full of stressed people which can’t be a good thing for a kid to grow up in.  I would also believe that the marriage with more than one might also lead to  jealous behavior amongst (for example in “Big Love”, the three women) the people in the marriage.

If I were in a relationship where I was married to a woman who was also married to 2 other men I would feel bad and obviously be jealous of the other men, I think relationship is something that is supposed to be between two people who can trust each other with anything and no matter what always love each other and be able to feel that the other person in the relationship does as well.

If I were in a relationship where I was married to more than one woman I would think I couldn’t really trust everyone as much as some others since it’s harder to get to know all of them when there are so many since you won’t have enough time for each of them.

I have a hard time believing that every part of the marriage will be treated the same, even though they aim for it I don’t think they can reach that goal.

But for those who live happily in a polygamous relationship as in a normal relationship should go on. As long as people are satisfied in their relationship I will accept that kind of relationship but as stated before I a hard time believing you can accomplish “normal” in a polygamist relationship.

Many countries have made polygamy illegal but there are exceptions for Muslims in some countries and some countries have it completely legal.  Polygamists may have a hard time getting legal immigrant status in a country that doesn’t approve polygamy.

 

 

/ Oskar L.


Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress: (publiceras ej)

URL/Bloggadress:

Kommentar:

Trackback
RSS 2.0